Bradley Kent took his third win of the year in the final Maximum Networks Volkswagen Racing Cup incorporating the Goodyear Touring Car Trophy & TCR UK race at Anglesey which enjoyed plenty of on-track action.

Starting on pole position, Bradley Kent pulled away with ease as behind him, Bruce Winfield made another fast start in his CUPRA DSG, however, they had to take avoiding action as Hugo Cook went straight on at the first turn, putting his Audi on the infield in the process as the field streamed past.

It was clear that Dan Kirby was quick in his Power Maxed Racing CUPRA TCR and soon set about trying to pass series leader Lewis Kent, which ended in contact early in the race at Rocket leaving Kent to slip down the order and Kirby to get back up to speed.

This handed Winfield the chance to pounce on Kirby and pass him for second place after several attempts to do so with Max Hart, Jac Constable and Lewis Kent closing in to create a four-car chase for Kirbys third place on the road as Alex Kite joined the tail in sixth.

Kite soon passed the Hyundai driver and was pushing both Hart and Constable to see how far he could get ahead whilst Kirby went wide at the last turn and rejoined in seventh place, leaving Hart to chase Constable now in third with Kite, Kent and Kirby in two.

Hart eventually passed Constable for third place with leaving Kite next in line as upfront, Bradly Kent extended his advantage to over four seconds at the halfway mark of the race.

The order changed drastically on lap ten as Hart pulled over and retired as Kite also pulled in the pits on the same lap with a right front puncture before retiring himself two later.

his allowed Kirby back into third place and saw a great late-race battle between Constable and William Butler, before Butler also pulled over and retired, meaning that Bradley Kent took his win followed by Winfield, Kirby, Constable and Lewis Kent were the only drivers classified.

The final race day of the season will take place on the Donington Park national circuit on August 30 with three races to decide the points winner and also who will be awarded the Tom Walker Memorial trophy.

Photo from Jakob Ebrey Photography.


Site and content copyright © 2024 WSC World Sporting Consulting Limited