Jac Constable put his recent woes behind him as he took a hard-fought win in round six of the 2022 TCR UK Championship, held on the Indy circuit at Brands Hatch.

However, he had to work hard in the race against polesitter Bradley Kent and fellow front-row starter Ant Whorton-Eales, with the Jamsport Racing Subaru WRX Sti TCR driver taking the lead on lap two and allowing Constable through into second place in his Power Maxed Racing CUPRA TCR.

Isaac Smith closed in on Bradley Kent at the wheel of his Race Car Consultants Volkswagen Golf Gti TCR, passing the Essex and Kent Motorsport driver early on for third place as Whorton-Eales led from the front.

Championship leader Max Hart was in the hunt, looking to limit the damage to his points lead in the Jamsport Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR, staying with the lead pack early on in the 25 minute race, profiting when Smith lost places and dropped down to eighth place.

Whorton-Eales stayed in the lead for the first 13 laps, before both he and Constable were overhauled by Bradley Kent as he retook the lead, only to retire from the race several laps from the end, handing the lead back to Whorton-Eales who would also retire from the race on the penultimate lap.

Jac Constable took his third win in TCR UK with Isaac Smith claiming second place, ahead of race one winner Lewis Kent, putting the Essex and Kent Motorsport Hyundai Veloster N TCR on the podium for the second race in a row as both Bond-It with MPH Racings Bradley Hutchinson took a best result of fourth ahead of Hart.

Callum Newsham followed up his race one podium from Saturday with sixth place in the Power Maxed Racing CUPRA TCR with Darelle Wilson taking his best result of 2022 so far, claiming seventh place in the DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR.

Jamie Tonks choice of setup worked to his advantage as he took several places in the Area Motorsport with FastR CUPRA TCR on his way to eighth place ahead of the top Goodyear Diamond Trophy winner Russell Joyce with Andy Wilmot completing the top ten.

Jess Hawkins was classified in 11th position after being given a five second penalty for track limits violations ahead of Capture Motorsport’s Jack Depper in the Volkswagen Golf Gti TCR, with Neil Trotter in the Chameleon Motorsport CUPRA TCR, Matthew Wilson in the JWB Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR and Chris Wallis in the Power Maxed Racing Hyundai completing the final points positions.

Scott Sumpton (Hyundai), Bruce Winfield (CUPRA), Steve Gales (Audi) were all classified ahead of ALex Ley who retired after contact mid race ahead of Bradley Kent.

Championship contender Chris Smiley retired mid race in the Restart Racing Honda Civic Type R TCR whilst Adam Shepherd did not complete a lap in his Jamsport Racing Hyundai.

Site and content copyright © 2024 WSC World Sporting Consulting Limited