Jac Constable has been awarded his second win of the 2022 season, following a dramatic second TCR UK race of the day, which saw several post-race decisions affect the final result.

Andy Wilmot crossed the line on track to take what would have been his first TCR UK win, however, the JamSport Racing driver was later disqualified for a technical infringement due to over boosting. The reversed grid race has left the championship primed for a thrilling end to the season at Snetterton in October.

Wilmot started from pole position and took the lead as fellow front row starter Matthew Wilson made a poor getaway allowing Isaac Smith to take second place on the run to Redgate corner with Lewis Kent in tow.

Further back, there was contact which saw Chris Smiley sent wide at Redgate and eventually retiring with damage to the Restart Racing Honda Civic  Type R FK7 TCR, leaving the Oulton Park race winner with his second zero score of the season.

The on track action was thrill a minute as early on Matthew Wilson left the Craner Curves at stage right after contact with Darelle Wilson which left the DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR in the gravel at the Old Hairpin, whilst the JWB Motorsport CUPRA driver re-joined the track.

Isaac Smith was involved in a fight for second place before Jac Constable was able to get passed the Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR and go off to chase down Wilmot. Smith later fell down the field after contact involving race one winner Adam Shepherd and Alex Ley which saw the title contender off at McLeans and re-joining in seventh place.

Having already lost places to Constable and Bradley Kent, Smith later succumbed to George Heler in the Paul Sheard Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi and Jamie Tonks on the last lap, with Heler taking his best finish in what was his second ever TCR sprint race.

Max Hart was on charge as he made up places from nineteenth on the grid, getting as far as seventh position before retiring his JamSport Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR for the six race in a row, joining fellow retirees Ant Whorton-Eales, Callum Newsham, and Lewis Kent.

The final results confirmed that Jac Constable took his second win of the year in the Power Maxed Racing CUPRA TCR ahead of Adam Shepherd in the Area Motorsport with Shepherd Motors Hyundai i30 N TCR with Bradley Kent taking third place in the Essex and Kent Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR.

Bruce Winfield claimed fourth place ahead of George Heler in fifth place and Jamie Tonks in sixth place. Isaac Smith was classified in seventh place, ahead of Darron Lewis in the Darron Lewis Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR, Neil Trotter in the Chameleon Motorsport CUPRA TCR and Alex Ley, who was awarded a five place penalty for contact during the race.

Russell Joyce was eleventh in the Power Maxed Racing with Joyce Design CUPRA TCR ahead of teammate Chris Wallis, whilst Marks smith (CUPRA), Matthew Wilson (CUPRA) and Steve Gales (Audi) completed the classified runners.

Ahead of the Snetterton Finale on 23rd October, once dropped scores are taken into account, there are seven drivers in with a mathematical chance of winning the 2022 TCR UK Championship.

Chris Smiley and Isaac Smith are tied for the lead on 315 points, ahead of Adam Shepherd (289), 2021 runner-up Bruce Winfield (285), Two time TCR UK Champion Lewis Kent (255), three time TCR UK race winner in 2022 Alex Ley (247) and Jac Constable (237).

Site and content copyright © 2024 WSC World Sporting Consulting Limited