Lewis Kent has taken his first win of the season, winning the 50th TCR UK race and in the process, giving the Hyundai Veloster N TCR its first race victory in the TCR UK Championship.

In what turned out to be an exciting encounter, round five of the season originally had two starts, with the first start taking place under dry conditions before the rain fell, as the field managed two laps at racing speed before the Safety Car was deployed, due to several cars going off in the slippery conditions on slick tyres.

With the race red flagged and a full restart called, re-forming the grid in its original iteration, Bradley Kent took the lead off the line with Lewis Kent in the Essex and Kent Motorsport Hyundai Veloster N TCR passing Alex Ley on the run to Druids. The start of the second lap saw Lewis pass his younger brother and taking Chris Smiley in tow, with the two drivers leading the way.

Bradley Kent now fell down the order over the next two laps, being passed by Isaac Smith, who had already passes Ley, before the Safety Car was once again deployed after both Jess Hawkins and Darelle Wilson went into the gravel trap.

With the order being Lewis Kent, Smiley, Alex Ley, who re-passed Isaac Smith after he went wide going into Paddock Hill Bend, Bradley Kent, Callum Newsham, Bruce Winfield, Adam Shepherd who had started twenty third on the gird after an engine change, Max Hart and Russell Joyce, racing resumed with 1 minutes left of the 25 minute race.

Bradley Kent was caught out on the restart and passed by Newsham, Winfield and Shepherd, whilst Jac Constable passed team-mate Joyce for tenth position, having originally started from the pit lane.

Newsham soon passed Smith for third place and began hunting down both Lewis Kent and Smiley, spending the final minutes of the race trying to wrestle second place away from the Oulton Park winner.

Lewis Kent took his first win of the year, ahead of Chris Smiley in the Restart Racing Honda Civic Type R TCR, with Callum Newsham taking his second podium of the year in the Power Maxed Racing CUPRA TCR, ahead of Isaac Smith in the Race Car Consultants Volkswagen Gold GTi TCR and Adam Shepherd in the Jamsport Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR.

Alex Ley held on to take sixth place in the Daniel James Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR with Jac Constable closing him down at the line. Max Hart was in damage limitation mode as he salvaged points in eighth place in the Jamsport Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR with Ant Whorton-Eales making up places late in the race to secure ninth place.

Bradley Kent held on for tenth place and in the process, will start from pole position in round six on Sunday. Bruce Winfield was eleventh ahead of the top Goodyear Diamond Trophy driver Russel Joyce, as Andy Wilmot, Jack Depper and Bradley Hutchinson completed the last points positions.

Neil Trotter (CUPRA), Mathew Wilson (CUPRA) and Scott Sumpton (Hyundai) were the final classified finishers, with Steve Gales (Audi), Jamie Tonks (CUPRA) and Chris Wallis (Hyundai) not taking the second start.

Site and content copyright © 2024 WSC World Sporting Consulting Limited