Championship leader Max Hart extended his advantage further by taking his first pole position of the 2022 TCR UK Championship, setting the fastest time in Qualifying and scoring six vital points in the process.

The JamSport Racing pilot was in amongst a fast group of drivers in the early stages of the 30 minute session which included Adam Shepherd in the Area Motorsport run Hyundai i30 N TCR, Bradley Hutchison in the Bond-It with MPHR Audi RS3 LMS TCR, Alex Ley in the Daniel James Motorsport  Hyundai i30 N TCR and Jac Constable in the Power Maxed Racing CUPRA TCR.

The times fell as the clock counted down, however one of the main talking points of the session was track limits, with seventeen of the nineteen drivers taking part having at least one lap time deleted.

Lewis Kent lost valuable time early on as he went on at Cascades, losing the front bumper of the Hyundai Veloster N TCR in the process, sending him pitbound. The double TCR UK champion returned to the session late on and would be classified in 15th place for race one.

Ley, Shepherd and Constable all topped the times however Hart had an answer for all of them and stayed top to claim his first pole of the year with a time of 1:26.952, the only driver to go under the 1 minute 26 barrier.

Alex Ley lines up on the front row with Adam Shepherd and Jac Constable on row two, whilst Isaac Smith lines up in fifth place ahead of Chris Smiley in the Restart Racing Honda Civic Type R FK7 TCR in sixth.

Callum Newsham was another driver in the mix for pole, however the  Power Maxed Racing driver had to settle for seventh ahead of the Area Motorsport by FastR driver Jamie Tonks, with Andrew Wilmot and Bradley Hutchison completing the top ten.

Bruce Winfield will start from eleventh with Matthew Wilson in the JWB Motorsport  CUPRA Leon Competición alongside ahead of Bradley Kent, who lost several lap times during the session.

Jessica Hawkins (CUPRA), Lewis Kent, Ant Whorton-Eales (Subaru), Darelle Wilson (Vauxhall), Neil Trotter (CUPRA) and Scott Sumpton (Hyundai) round out the grid.

*Update: Due to a technical infringement, Max Hart was disqualified from Qualifying and put to the back of the grid, promoting Alex Ley to pole position.

Site and content copyright © 2024 WSC World Sporting Consulting Limited