Bruce Winfield finally managed to climb on the top step of the podium after taking  a long overdue maiden win in the Maximum Networks Volkswagen Racing Cup incorporating the Goodyear Touring Car Trophy & TCR UK first race at Anglesey.

After making what is now trademark fast getaway at the start, Winfield managed to hold off the early advances of Max Hart, who pushed earl to try and take the lead in the race on lap one, however, backed off after picking up some grass in his radiator, but this wouldn’t hold back the Irish driver as he recollected himself for another attack.

Dan Kirby went on the attack right away, chasing down Danny Krywyj for third place and passing him early on before the Hyundai driver fought back and went off track, losing places after his best ever qualifying performance so far. Despite getting back on track and fighting back to seventh place, Krywyj would end up retiring in the pits.

Jack Constable was another driver to suffer an off-road excursion as his CUPRA went wide at the same turn, leaving the Oulton Park winner to try and recover lost ground after pitting for repairs.

As Winfield held off Hart from a second attempt at taking the lead, further back Hugo Cook and Bradley Kent became embroiled in a race-long duel for fourth place with the younger Audi driver managing to hold off the advances of the Hyundai driver right until the last lap where Cook lost places to both of the Kent brothers falling to sixth place over the line.

Further back, before retiring from the race, Krywyj was embroiled in a good battle for seventh place with both William Butler and Jack Depper, in his now strikingly yellow liveried Volkswagen Golf, with both Butler and Depper surviving to make it to the flag.

Winfield took the win ahead of Hart with Kirby completing the podium, whilst Bradly Kent finished ahead of Lewis Kent in fifth place. In crossing the line in sixth position, Hugo Cook will start race two from pole positon with the top six positon from race one reversed for race two.

Butler, Depper, Kite and Constable were the remaining classified finishers in the race.

Race two gets underway at 16:45 pm BST and will be shown live across our Social Media channels.


Site and content copyright © 2024 WSC World Sporting Consulting Limited